Person of Interest

Person of Interest

                I first found out about Person of Interest through one of WORLD magazine’s movie/TV show reviews. I was initially drawn to it, if I remember correctly, because I thought Michael Emerson was neat-looking, but also because our last attempt at a weekly TV show had been an unmitigated flunk. I read the review twice, just to make sure I hadn’t missed anything, and wanted to go to my mom and tell her about it, but I knew I had to get my sister to read it first. In my household, few things get done without the all-out support of my sister. So I had her read it, and she seemed happy with it too. Then we went to Mom, Mom mentioned it at dinner, we got the consent of Father and support of Brother, and the next Thursday night found us gathered around the TV in eager anticipation. We loved it. I remember I was shocked at how moral it was. There was little swearing, and the violence was not bad at all. It was much nicer to be able to take one’s had off of the remote during a show, unlike parts of our past two attempts at weekly shows. As my sister and I talked over the next few episodes we watched, we noted that so much of it, the plot and the morality of the characters, was nearly Christian. And besides all that, the plot was amazing. I would try to explain it to you, but I’m sure I wouldn’t do it justice. Oh well, here I go anyway.

From the makers J. J. Abrams and Jonathan Nolan, Person of Interest is a crime

drama based in New York City. A mysteriously wounded, intensely private computer genius Harold Finch (Michael Emerson) hires former U.S. ArmySpecial Forces soldier and ex CIA agent John Reese (Jim Caviezel) to be the “body” behind his brains and to help him stop the crimes his ingenious machine foretells – the problem is, all the machine gives them is a social security number, and it’s up to them to find out whether the number belongs to the victim or perpetrator, and to stop it. Their other problem is that they are both presumed dead, the machine is technically illegal, and so is most everything they’re doing, so they have some trouble getting information and results, while staying under

the radar. Here’s where POI’s secondary characters come in. Detective Joss Carter (Taraji P. Henson) starts out hunting Mr. Reese down, attempting to, or so she thinks, bring him to justice. After a few episodes it’s obvious that she will someday become an ally to

Reese and Finch. This she does, coming in and out of trusting them as they keep doing things that are illegal to save people, but eventually coming completely over on to their side. The other main secondary character is the awesomely curly-headed Detective Lionel Fiasco –

er – I mean, Fusco. Lionel (Kevin Chapman) was originally a corrupt cop, but gets blackmailed by Reese into being a source inside the police department. After some time, Fusco begins to enjoy being a good cop, and becomes increasingly more and more loyal to Finch and Reese.

The idea of preventing crimes instead of solving them is a neat twist, and if my opinion mattered, I would give Person of Interest four-and-a-half stars at least. If you want to watch Person of Interest, and I would advise it, it airs on CBS at 9/8 central on Thursday nights.

Leave a Reply

