Going My Way

A few Sundays ago, well, quite a while ago now, we had a guest speaker since Pastor Chodan was away at our new youth pastor, Pastor Andrew’s ordination. He preached on Philippians 1-2:11. We were reading along when we came to verse 2 of chapter 2. The newly graduated seminary student read, “Fulfill ye my joy, that ye be likeminded, having the same love, being of one accord, of one mind,” in his slow, deliberated way.  It suddenly hit me that what that verse was saying sounded awfully familiar. I thought about it a moment. In fact, I thought about it the whole way through the rest of the verses he read. I began to think Bing Crosby, but I didn’t really know why, and I felt very distracted. It annoyed me. I tried to pull my mind from the great old 40’s singer and back to the pastor’s sermon. But my mind would not let me. Then I got it – Going my way – that was it! The words quickly ran through my head.

This road leads to rainbowville,

Going my way.

Up ahead is bluebird hill,

Going my way.

Just pack a basket full of wishes,

And off you start,

With Sunday morning in your heart.

Round the bend you’ll see a sign,

Dreamer’s highway.

Happiness is down the line,

Going my way.

The smiles you gather will look well on you,

Oh, I hope you’re going my way too.

                So that was it then. A Bing Crosby song was in the Bible. I always knew I liked that song. I had often felt it had some bit of hidden meaning that was so not really hidden and in so obvious a place that I had gone and missed it altogether. “Fulfill ye my joy, that ye be likeminded, having the same love, being of one accord, of one mind.” That was exactly it, wasn’t it? The writer of the song and the writer of the verse were asking us to go their way, in other words, to go His way. Sure the words of the song are a bit flowery, but hey, it’s a 40’s song, give it a break. After I had worked all this out in my head I realized that I had not been paying much attention to the sermon for quite a little while. I stored my recent thoughts in a corner of my brain to be revived later and buckled down to thoroughly enjoy the sermon. I did, and when I was thinking about it that afternoon my thoughts came back to me, and, if you couldn’t tell, I’m still thinking about them now. Going my way. Hmmm… how interesting.

Leave a Reply

