Clean like Basil

A little bit of motivation for all you who are doing spring cleaning this year.

We all have to admit it; spring cleaning is a lousy job, even if we do know that it must be done. So this year, when I was browsing round www.basilrathbone.net I found something that made me, for the first time in my life, almost want to do spring cleaning. It was page 8 in the candid photo section of the photo gallery. The page was entitled Domestic Basil: gardening, painting, doing housework, etc. I will share with you my favorites… with comments for each, of course.

I have a mortal fear of reaching into tomato plants… fear of unknown and lurking bugs and snakes, you know… now this shall be my moral support from here on. Every time I go into our garden I am going to keep this in my pocket.

In our household, I am the one who brings in the laundry from the line. Moral support again. I’m sure I’ll start holding the clothes pins in my mouth now!

Work – it’s always better to work with friends!

 I don’t know what he’s using, or what you use, but I can smell the Murphy’s Oil Soap now!

 Last year we accidentally used the wrong shade to cover up the chips in the paint. Oops! I’m sure Basil never made such mistakes!

Admit it, break time is everybody’s favorite!

We all know phone calls only come when you’re doing something important!

 I don’t know about you, but I find that split pretty impressive!

 Seeee Mom and Dad! Basil Rathbone had chickens! Although I don’t have chickens, I’ve always wanted them, and I would not need this for moral support. I still might keep it in my pocket though, for good luck or something.

 Although a posed shot, I think Basil illustrates the way most people feel when their housework is finished. It’s nice to know that he was human too… sometimes I wonder! 😀

So next time you feel down about having to do spring cleaning, check out these pictures and feel inspired!

Leave a Reply

